Tags

, , , , , ,

March is gone and I did not post once in the month of my birth. The weather here in Minnesota was so nice that I just couldn’t wrap my head around sitting down and tapping out the blog on my iPhone. That action has become to me something akin to morse code, as the keyboard of my “smartphone” and my giganto Oscar Meyer hot dog fingers produce a mish-mash language that I have to translate three times before I publish it.

Generally my birthday month is not a time I look forward to for the obvious reasons; weather, aging, my approaching mortality, being stuck in my house for a week over spring break with my tween daughter who believes the response to every situation is either one of absolute disgust and exasperation or inappropriately timed, rapid fire, machine gun like conversation that moves faster than the Millennium Falcon on Kessel Run.

So the fact that I skipped out entirely on my blog in March doesn’t surprise me at all but I still apologize for those that came here last month looking for whatever people who end up here are looking for.

With that out of the way, on to the topic of the month: the return of Game of Thrones on HBO.

This is not a blog dedicated to talking about, theorizing or analyzing the writings of George R.R.Martin; so do not fear the fanboy in me coming out for just a moment. I have had a couple of experiences recently that reminded me in no uncertain terms why I wanted to become a writer in the first place and Game of Thrones is one of them.

George R.R. Martin’s grasp on his universe and the method in which the producers at HBO have translated it on screen is a magnificent accomplishment. One of those true moments in which the mediums of writing and film making align themselves like a celestial event, producing the most exquisite of light shows. Unlike the majority of great fantasy epics, (The Tamuli by David Eddings & The Dragonlance Saga by Weis and Hickman just to name two) that will never get the chance to make a real impact on the world; Martin and HBO has given Game of Thrones the opportunity that only Tolkien has managed to achieve in our time. All this is due to the strength of Martin’s creative world building and dedication to his craft.

The other Dickensian like spirit that came to visit me was Stephen King’s 11/22/63.

I know…He’s the king of mass produced fiction, the juggernaut of modern writing and because of his lasting success am I supposed to dislike him? There is a reason why Master King has sold millions of copies of his works worldwide.

Simply put…it’s the work. We may not always agree as readers on whether Stephen King has stretched his creative genius a little thin at times but his ability to build memorable worlds along with his capability for ultra-realistic character creation is truly unparalleled in the industry.

Haters are gonna hate. People attack the top of the mountain. That is a fact of life but it does not take away from the reality of the situation. Stephen King is a master at his craft because he has over forty years of dedication to his craft. Just like Harlan Elllison, J.K. Rowlings, Dean Koontz, Stephanie Meyer, Anne Rice and all the other names you traditionally see at the top of the sales list.

Yeah, now they got the advantages of agents and publishing houses that take over the market like an invading army but they got there with hard work. There was a time when they dreamed of the same things you and I do struggling writers, the difference between us and those at the top is simple.

An unstoppable will and drive for completion. Never give up because “Winter is coming” and the question really is, do you want to stand at the top of the mountain when your time comes or are satisfied with the view from the bottom?

