I have been very negative about the future and where to go with my writing. This has a lot to do with the sudden collapse of a very dear friendship recently with another very talented writer and the grinding struggle that every writer goes through on their path to success and publishing. Sometimes it just takes a little reminder; either by reading a particularly good book or passage, watching a particularly well written movie, or just the kindness of another writer, to remind those of us unfortunate enough to be taken down by our own indecision and insecurities to stand back and continue on.

In my case I give all thanks to writer and great person A.E. Marling for reminding me of why I do what I do. Please check out his blog and current exercise as he calls out to all writers and fans to come up with one word that describes what fantasy as a genre means to them.

Mine was life…

